LBJ School 50th Anniversary | Home

alt="LBJ 50th Anniversary Forum participants"

The LBJ School Celebrates 50 Years In the Arena

In 2020, we celebrate the LBJ School's half-century of impact, not just within the walls of academia, but also on public and social policies around the world. The 50th anniversary will capture the legacy of a great institution — embodied in the board of trustees and over 4,500 alumni, as well as friends and supporters. We will feature today's most prominent leaders, dreamers and doers — those in the arena who dare to dream, dare to achieve . . . for good.


FORUM I: In the Arena: The LBJ Era… to the Present — Oct. 5, 2020, 7 PM CT

From civil rights and higher education to Medicare and space exploration, Lyndon B. Johnson embraced transformative change. By linking the LBJ legacy to the work of today's extraordinary thinkers and doers, this forum challenges new generations of leaders to fight for change at a time of global crisis and uncertainty.

Featuring Darren Walker, Martine Rothblatt, Carla Hayden, Tom Freston, Pattie Sellers, Dr. Rajiv Shah, Tom Johnson, Sherrie Westin, Angela Evans and Luci Baines Johnson.


FORUM II: In the Arena: Defining a New Destiny — Oct. 12, 2020, 7 PM CT

Never before has humanity faced today's level of crisis and uncertainty, change and scale of disruption. But it is also a tipping point in history. There is a renewed seriousness of purpose around the fight for racial justice and equity—a fight that gained traction in the LBJ era but has since stalled. This forum sheds light on the leadership and vision that can lead us forward.

Featuring Melinda Gates, Pat Mitchell, Jamie Dimon, Pattie Sellers, Dr. Ezekiel Emanuel, Dr. Michael Hole, Anousheh Ansari, Nina Easton, Adm. William McRaven, Douglas Brinkley, Stacey Abrams, Pete Buttigieg and Lynda Johnson Robb.


Stay in touch: Sign up to learn more about #LBJ50.